Fantasy Football Files, Pt. 1

I’m going to try and cover all the leagues I follow on the blog, with comprehensive, full break-downs. I haven’t gotten around to any ACC football, basketball, EPL or Serie A soccer, but I’m going to take a minute to update you on the league I follow most closely: Conover Road Fantasy Football.

A little background: This league has been around for about 5 years now, and is full of crazy rules. We play a 12-team league with QB, 3WR, 2RB, TE, W/T, and a full flex position, giving players the option to play two QB, or any other combination. This, in addition to many unconventional rules, make playing in this league much different from conventional fantasy leagues. Also a keeper league, the talent is spread throughout.

Week 2 was a dramatic week for my division and team, Randy Moss’s 401K. Above you see the Week 2 final scores for the league. Take a look at the top two matchups in particular:

These two games involve all three members of my division, with myself playing an outside opponent. Both games were won by a total of 4.2 points, and change the entire landscape of the division. I have gone from a possible situation of being one of two 0-2 teams behind a 2-0 Team Morgan, but the Wombats and I pull through, and now stand in a three-way 1-1 tie, keeping the division wide open. Both games came down to the wire, with injuries to Mario Manningham and a just-ineffective-enough Eli Manning proving key, and making Monday Night Football an exciting experience this week.

As I thank the fantasy gods for my close victory, I continue to scramble as if I had lost, and try to find replacements for the injured Arian Foster, Miles Austin and the never-coming-back Sidney Rice. I’m relying on Eric Decker and Antonio Brown to bring home the bacon next week, so you may find me in worse spirits for the next Files.

Join me next week for more nuggets from the 2011 Conover Road Fantasy Football Files.

About jgweiss

Trying to find a job, trying to start a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

